This Month’s Molineux Milestones

Landmarks in May

John McAlle, seen here collecting Molineux man of the match honours with Liverpool legend Alan Hansen, played his final Wolves game 28 years ago this month.

2nd – Wolves won promotion to the top flight (1983); Wolves clinched the Fourth Division title (1988)

3rd – Wolves won the Texaco Cup (1971)

4th – John McAlle (1981), Robbie Dennison (1997) and Mark Venus (1997) played their last Wolves games

5th – Mel Eves and Kenny Hibbitt (both 1984) played their last Wolves games

6th – Mike Stowell played his last Wolves game (2001)

7th – Wolves 3 Blackburn 0 in FA Cup final (1960); Wolves clinched the Second Division title (1977); Steve Daley played his last Wolves game (1979)

8th – Wolves 2 Leeds 1 (1972); Andy Mutch (1993) and Paul Cook (1994) played their last Wolves games

9th – Roy Pritchard was born (1925); Steve Bull played his last Wolves game (1999); Wolves clinched the Third Division title (1989)

10th – Andy Thompson played his last Wolves game (1997); Dennis Wilshaw died (2004)

12th – Eddie Stuart was born (1931)

13th – Bill Slater played his last Wolves game (1963)

14th – Frank Munro played his last Wolves game (1977)

15th – Peter Broadbent was born (1933); Willie Carr played his last Wolves game (1982)

The incomparable Billy Wright, captain of Wolves and England.

27th – Bill Shorthouse was born (1922); Steve Bull scored on his England debut (1989)

28th – Billy Wright played his 105th and last England game (1959)

29th – Wolves won the Sherpa Van Trophy (1988)

31st – Wolves 1 Liverpool 2 in top-flight title decider (1947)