Tributes Gathered To Hall Of Fame Six

Wolves Preparing For Big Night

Billy Wright leads England out, followed by Johnny Haynes.

Eulogies from more than half a dozen former Wolverhampton Wanderers players are currently being collated ready for the dinner next Thursday that honours the early inductees to the club’s Hall of Fame.

The cameras have been rolling in a makeshift studio at Molineux this week in preparation for the function that celebrates the magnificent Wolves careers of, in chronological order, Jackery Jones, Stan Cullis, Billy Wright, Ron Flowers, Derek Parkin and Steve Bull.

The six men form this year’s ‘intake’ to the newly-established Hall of Fame, the institution set up to pay further homage to the club’s biggest names of yesteryear.

In the last few days, Malcolm Finlayson, Bobby Thomson, Frank Munro, John McAlle, Dave Wagstaffe, Phil Parkes and John Richards have provided tributes that will be screened at the star-studded January 15 dinner at Molineux.

Other reminiscences will be given to compere Bob Hall on the evening, when the surviving members of the chosen six will be joined by team-mates and other admirers as well as by members of the Cullis, Wright and Jones families.

It is hoped that the Hall of Fame will become a museum when the redevelopment of Molineux – currently on hold – goes ahead.

Stan Cullis greets Sheffield United skipper Jimmy Hagan.

Inductees have been chosen by a panel consisting of two club executives, two Fans Parliament members, two members of the Wolves Former Players Association and two media representatives, all supported by Wolves’ historians.

SIte Design by Websitze

Visitors since 01/01/2023

Views Today : 87
Views Yesterday : 265
Views This Year : 55521